Frequently asked questions

Quick answers to common logistics questions.

What are the different types of containers?

  • Dry: they are the standard containers. Closed tightly and without refrigeration or ventilation.
  • Metallic: as standard, but without sealing and without refrigeration. Commonly used for the transport of waste and garbage by road.
  • High Cube: standard containers mostly of 40 feet; Its main characteristic is its height (9.6 feet).
  • Reefer: Refrigerated containers, either 40 or 20 feet, but with a cold or heat storage system and thermostat. They must be connected in the ship and in the terminal, even in the truck if possible or in an external generator, they work under three-phase current.
  • Open Top: of the same measures as the previous ones, but open at the top. The merchandise can excel but, in that case, supplements are paid depending on how much cargo has stopped being charged for this excess.
  • Flat Rack: they also lack side walls and even, as the case may be, front and rear walls. They are used for atypical loads and pay supplements in the same way as open top.
  • Open Side: its biggest feature is that it is open on one of its sides, its measurements are 20 or 40 feet. It is used for loads of larger dimensions in length that can not be loaded through the container door.
  • Tank or tank container: for bulk liquid transport. It is a cistern contained within a series of steel beams that delimit a cuboid whose dimensions are equivalent to those of a dry van. In this way, the cistern enjoys the inherent advantages of a container: it can be stacked and travel in any of the means of transport typical of intermodal transport.
  • Flexi-Tank: for bulk liquid transport. They suppose an alternative to the container cistern. A flexi-tank consists of a standard container (dry van), usually 20 feet, inside which is fixed a flexible polyethylene tank for single use called flexibag.
  • What is an Incoterm?

    The INCOTERMS or Purchase / Sale Terms are not a law, however they define the rights and obligations between buyer and seller, determining costs and risks between the parties, they are recognized internationally and are the work of the International Chamber of Commerce.

    Important aspects of the INCOTERM

    • It has no connection to the transport contract. It only links buyer and seller.
    • It distributes the expenses and responsibilities between buyer and seller and determines where the transmission of risks takes place.
    • Specifies the place of collection and delivery of the goods (origin - destination).
    • Define the distribution of documentary procedures (customs clearance).

    Table of Incoterms 2010

    Attached sheet with the image of the table

    The 11 types of Incoterms 2010 are presented in 2 groups:

    • Multimodal (EXW - FCA - CPT - CIP - DAT - DAP - DDP).
    • Exclusive maritime and inland waterways (FAS - FOB - CFR - CIF).

    Note that they disappear from the list with respect to Incoterms 2000: DDU - DAF - DES - DEQ).


    EXW: The seller puts the goods at the disposal of the buyer in their own premises.

    FAS, FCA, FOB: The seller delivers the goods to a means of transport chosen by the buyer.

    CFR, CIF, CPT, CIP: The seller hires the main transport.

    DAT, DAP, DDP: The seller bears all the risks and expenses necessary to take his merchandise to his destination.